knowing who the people in your life are

With the great news about Lora, I decided to shoot an email to my nearest and dearest, letting them know that the end is finally here. One thing that really struck me, a moment after I pressed ‘send’, was who I sent my message to. Issi and Jared. Jo, Lynne, and Sherri. My friends Tom and Alice, who I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned, but have been wonderful towers of emotional support.

It wasn’t until after that I thought that I should maybe let Rachel know. She’d certainly be happy for me, to hear this news. But she’s no longer someone I go to and share news with immediately. That made me feel a little sad, but it also felt right. I think that – in this case at least – who I go to first with significant news tells me something about the people in my life. Who I really want to be in my life and keep relationship-building with. And who I really don’t consider a part of my life anymore.

I’m fine with that. I really am. A little sad, but fine.

There’s a lot of moving on that I finally feel really ready to do.

Published by

lizeden

polyamorist, cat-lover, hopeless optimist when I'm not being a firm realist.

Leave a Reply

