PSA: mental health resource

Randomly scoping out the YouTubes, I came across a video on mental illness (specifically Borderline Personality Disorder) that recommended a particular book as being really helpful. The book is called The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook: Practical DBT Exercises for Learning Mindfulness, Interpersonal Effectiveness, Emotion Regulation & Distress Tolerance (how’s that for a mouthful?). I was initially curious because it’s a self-help book that complies to certain standards of cognitive behavioral therapy treatments. My depression and mental health issues were treated (greatly improved, and in some cases, totally eliminated) by cognitive behavioral therapy, so my ears always perk up when I hear about a resource that has to do with that.

Even though I think my mental health is generally good, I’m going to buy this book to see if it can help me become and even more awesome version of myself. πŸ˜‰

In all seriousness though, even if I feel like I don’t need it now, based off of the reviews I’ve read about it, it sounds like an extremely powerful and helpful resource.

If you – or someone you love – is having a difficult time with mental health problems, it might be worthwhile to get this book and try it out. It’s not expensive, and it has a lot of rave reviews on helping people to gain better coping skills and ways of handling stress, as well as a layout that seems to encourage working at your own pace. Using this book alone (or in conjunction with a good therapist) could potentially help foster faster and more permanent mental shifts that would bring about better mental health.

Hope everybody is staying warm and dry!

 

Published by

lizeden

polyamorist, cat-lover, hopeless optimist when I'm not being a firm realist.

One thought on “PSA: mental health resource”

Leave a Reply

